You could be chatting with an angel.

Hebrews 13:2

Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angelsunawares.

This is one of my very favorite scriptures. Something is so amazing about the thought that Angels are around us and we don’t even realize it. I’ve found myself talking to strangers, and occasionally in the middle of random conversation about God, I’ve begun wondering if they could be an angel. It also strikes fear to my core of the moments I haven’t behaved as a perfect child of God.  I think in moments where we have a million responsibilities and stresses weighing on us, we can sometimes forget the world around us. I know I do. Sometimes I get annoyed driving. I will look at someone driving like a maniac and shake my head and under my breath call them a moron. I know…it’s not a good thing to do. I hate that. I’m working on it. I love most of the human race effortlessly, until they make me slam on my brakes and it hurls myself and my 3 kids against the restraint of our seatbelt and scares the thunder out of me. Then most of the human race is all morons. I lump myself into them if it makes you feel better. Something about driving and nearly dying, really bothers me. Anyway, now we are off topic.

My point is that Angels…ANGELS are around us. We are probably encountering them all the time and we don’t even know it. I know they are around us all the time and we don’t see them, but it’s amazing to think that we could be interacting directly with them. They could be the person you chatted with in the doctor’s office waiting room, a gas station, the zoo, work, park, the police department. Anywhere guys. You could have talked with one today, or are going to talk to one today.

This thought seems to help me center myself. It helps me remember that my example isn’t only for other humans. I am always being watched over and or observed by the Holy spirit and angels. What am I like to other beings? Am I pleasant and joyful to watch, or am I a grumbling grouch in a checkout line? I really really try to remember that I am on this earth for God’s purpose and not my own. I am here because He created me for His will and pleasure and because I’ve chosen to love Him, that feels like an honor to be even the smallest part of. Little ole me is somehow important to God in this sea of humans, animals, plants, universe. That is pretty cool. The thought that I could talk to an angel without knowing it at any time, makes me feel pretty conscious of the complexity of the spiritual world around us that we don’t see. There is a war of good and evil going around us that we don’t see. Angels and demons fighting for power and footholds in our souls. To be aware of that, kind of takes my breath away. This scripture is a great reminder and inspiration to me.

After your 2 cups of coffee in the morning, or as the angel barista hands you your coffee, or even as you chug your Dr. Pepper from a soda machine, remember that your day is full of possibilities. Possibilities of even chatting with an angel. Placeholder Image

 

2 thoughts on “You could be chatting with an angel.

  1. Hugs to you. Thanks for allowing the Lord’s positive influence over your life in this writing. I am a soon-to-be published author. I say this as the Lord has gifted me with the ability to write, almost effortlessly, and is He persistent about wanting me to write books and to get published. Please keep me in your prayers as I find my way in following what He has purposed and gifted me to do. Elaine M.

    Like

Leave a Reply

