In the eye of the storm

20170109_175317If you have ever watched a storm roll in, in all of it’s ominous threatening glory, and hunkered down as it raged and had it’s way with everything around you, you know the anxiety it can provoke. In these storms we as humans are powerless to keep the storm away and we are powerless against the damage the storm generates. When I was a kid, I lived in Missouri and then Ohio. I know tornadoes well. I have watched the sky turn green and funnel clouds form. I have huddled underneath a cafeteria table in 1st grade with 20 something kids from my class, as the tornado siren blared and the sky was green all around us. It’s hard to describe the omnipotence of storms like these unless you have lived through one and seen your neighbors entire silo blown to bits, or your hometown ravaged by the destruction. It always makes my hair stand on end when I see black clouds on the horizon.

My last 7 years has been a storm. I was torn apart by a spiritual and physical storm. Everyone who reads this, has probably experienced a great storm in their lives. Each person has felt suffering, pain, desperation, longing and craved relief of some storm that deconstructed something within them. You are not alone. I have been there.

This morning the reminder scripture on my Bible app was Hebrews 6:10 For God is not unrighteous to forget your work and labour of love, which ye have shewed toward his name, in that ye have ministered to the saints, and do minister.

I read that and I thought, hmmm…I want to read the whole chapter. I did, but this particular section pierced me to the core.

10. For God is not unrighteous to forget your work and labour of love, which ye have shewed toward his name, in that ye have ministered to the saints, and do minister.

11 And we desire that every one of you do shew the same diligence to the full assurance of hope unto the end:

12 That ye be not slothful, but followers of them who through faith and patience inherit the promises.

13 For when God made promise to Abraham, because he could swear by no greater, he sware by himself,

14 Saying, Surely blessing I will bless thee, and multiplying I will multiply thee.

15 And so, after he had patiently endured, he obtained the promise.

16 For men verily swear by the greater: and an oath for confirmation isto them an end of all strife.

17 Wherein God, willing more abundantly to shew unto the heirs of promise the immutability of his counsel, confirmed it by an oath:

18 That by two immutable things, in which it was impossible for God to lie, we might have a strong consolation, who have fled for refuge to lay hold upon the hope set before us:

19 Which hope we have as an anchor of the soul, both sure and stedfast, and which entereth into that within the veil;

God promises and end to all strife, and that after we have patiently endured we will receive the promise.

When we endure a life changing storm, and use God as our anchor, we WILL obtain the promise. That promise is an end to all suffering and eternal life.  Sometimes the storms calm and forms a beautiful silver lining as you can see that this particular storm in Phoenix did. I took a photo of it because it was far more glorious in person. Sometimes the storms are unto death. One of my very best friends, rode out her grueling cancer storm unto death. She was anchored in God and her soul trusted Him for the promise. She lived her labor of love, testifying of God’s goodness even in her great suffering. I miss her deeply, but I have joy in the end of her trials.

There is a song that comes to mind. It’s By Ryan Stevenson and I will paste it below. You can also listen to it here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BTonhOA5lDs

 “Eye Of The Storm”
In the eye of the storm, You remain in control
And in the middle of the war, You guard my soul
You alone are the anchor, when my sails are torn
Your love surrounds me in the eye of the storm
When the solid ground is falling out from underneath my feet
Between the black skies, and my red eyes, I can barely see
When I realize I’ve been sold out by my friends and my family
I can feel the rain reminding me

In the eye of the storm, You remain in control
In the middle of the war, You guard my soul
You alone are the anchor, when my sails are torn
Your love surrounds me in the eye of the storm
Mmm, when my hopes and dreams are far from me, and I’m runnin’ out of faith
I see the future I picture slowly fade away
And when the tears of pain and heartache are pouring down my face
I find my peace in Jesus’ name

In the eye of the storm (yeah, yeah)
You remain in control (yes you do, Lord)
In the middle of the war, You guard my soul
You alone are the anchor, when my sails are torn
Your love surrounds me (Your love surrounds me)
In the eye of the storm (in the eye of the storm)

When the test comes in and the doctor says I’ve only got a few months left
It’s like a bitter pill I’m swallowing; I can barely take a breath
And when addiction steals my baby girl, and there’s nothing I can do
My only hope is to trust You
I trust You, Lord

In the eye of the storm (yeah, yeah) You remain in control
In the middle of the war (middle of the war), You guard my soul (yeah!)
You alone are the anchor (ooh), when my sails are torn
Your love surrounds me (yeah!)

In the eye of the storm, You remain in control (yes you do, Lord)
In the middle of the war (in the middle of the war), You guard my soul
You alone are the anchor (ooh), when my sails are torn
Your love surrounds me in the eye of the storm, oooh
Oh, in the eye of, oh, in the eye of the storm

I know You’re watching me, yea, ay
When the storm is raging (when the storm is raging)
And my hope is gone (and my hope is gone, Lord)
When my flesh is failing, You’re still holding on, oh whoa
When the storm is raging (the storm is raging)
And my hope is gone (and all my hope is gone)
When my flesh is failing (my flesh is failing)
You’re still holding on, oooh
When the storm is raging (when the storm is raging)
And my hope is gone (and my hope is gone)
Even when my flesh is failing (flesh is failing)
You’re still holding on, holding on
The Lord is my Shepherd
I have all that I need
He lets me rest in green meadows
He leads me beside peaceful streams
He renews my strength
He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to His Name
Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid
For You are close beside me

I am writing this to tell you that your storm is an opportunity to dig your anchor deeply within the foundation of God.  Here is comfort. Here is opportunity for growth and to rebuild much stronger than before. Hold on to God’s hand in your dark tunnel. It’s okay if you can’t see the outcome, your Father in heaven does and it is glorious. Just don’t give up and let go. I firmly believe that as our Heavenly Father, he allows things that will give us opportunity to learn wisdom and trust in Him, just like an earthly Father. As a parent, I sometimes have to allow my children to face hurdles so that they learn how to navigate them. I also know they are capable of way more than they think and that if I see them struggling to a degree that they need help, I will intervene.

Teaching my children to swim is the perfect analogy. The moment that God see’s us struggling underwater and truly needing to be lifted up, He reaches down and helps us so we can get a breath. If he takes the water completely away, we don’t learn and we don’t grow stronger. With practice though, we begin trusting that God will intervene on our behalf when necessary, but we also learn to swim much better than we could before the challenges. There is beauty in growth. There is beauty in faith, hope, and trust, when they are utilized. I will leave you with this my friends.

2nd Corinthians 12:10 “Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.”

Your struggles are in my prayers. God knows you and what you are feeling, and He is a good Father.

6 thoughts on “In the eye of the storm

  1. How absolutely beautiful! Thank you so very much. I just got done ordering a wheelchair as my good leg seems to be tiring from all it’s had to bear. Feels as the achilles is ready to go again as it has before. As I wept thinking about how fragile my body has become, I realized life itself is equally as fragile here in earth. I am waiting for the blessed hope of His glorious return. I heard a beautiful sermon this morning by Pastor Tim Delena at Times Square Church. He pointed out that in our times of seeking and feeling as though we aren’t hearing from God, we must always remember that a Teacher is always silent during the giving of a test! I thought that was profoundly appropriate for this time I and so many others find ourselves in. Your messages are so refreshing and remind me that I am not in this storm, on this journey, or in this trial alone! Bless you dear!

    Like

  2. I requested my email be removed from Mountains and mustard seeds through WordPress last week. Please stop sending it. It’s filling up my inbox and comments are upsetting me. Thank you Kathy Wright

    On Thu, Mar 30, 2017 at 1:51 PM, Mountains and Mustard Seeds wrote:

    > mountainsandmustardseeds posted: “If you have ever watched a storm roll > in, in all of it’s ominous threatening glory, and hunkered down as it raged > and had it’s way with everything around you, you know the anxiety it can > provoke. In these storms we as humans are powerless to keep the stor” >

    Like

    1. Kathy, I have absolutely no control over that. I apologize that it is bothering you, but I cant subscribe or unsubscribe anyone. You could try to get a hold of wordpress and ask how, I suppose, but I personally have no ability to do anything about it. Maybe just delete and dont open the emails so you dont have to read them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

