Prove it

I believe in science

The question, “How do we know God is real,” carries a striking similarity to another question.  I experience this question repeatedly on my blog about Fluoroquinolone antibiotics. The question of, “How can you prove taking Cipro, was what damaged you?” The answer to both of those questions is the same. You can’t prove it, but you can’t disprove it either.

Bear with me for a few moments. I believe in science. I also believe God created science. He made something out of nothing. He actually made everything out of nothing. He created atoms, molecules, and DNA. He created them out of nothing. That is the coolest science there is! So many try to use science to disprove God. They haven’t been able to disprove Him yet. They have tried to make something out of nothing and they can’t. They haven’t created something out of nothing even once. If that doesn’t take a steaming poop on the Big Bang Theory, I have no idea what does. I believe the Big bang theory exists in a different context. God said,”Let there be light.” BANG…there was light. See where I’m going with this? Can I prove it? Nope. Because it’s faith. It can’t be disproven either. To believe there is not a God takes faith too. Faith that He isn’t real and you place your belief in Scientists. That scares me. Have you seen humans drive? None of us should be 100% trusted to be right 100% of the time. We are humans and we do no less than 20 incredibly stupid things in one week. Jam toes, spill something, car accidents, bounce checks, mess up drive through orders. My husband is a police officer and would be out of a job if stupid ceased to exist. Emergency rooms are filled daily with the results of accidents and hair brained ideas going awry. I’m not going to put my faith in a human and our understanding of science when it has to do with the possibility of eternal life. When science creates something out of nothing…let me know.

Can I prove that Fluoroquinolones caused all of my health to swan dive into the toilet, and go to poo? No I can’t. You can’t disprove it either.

The same principals of the 2 subjects, are the same. There are warnings that God is real, books that document the history, and first hand accounts of His influence in the human world. Testimonials,  believers and disbelievers. God also changed me.

There are warnings about Fluoroquinolone antibiotics. There are books and studies that document the history of their side effects. There are first hand accounts by those who have been affected, how it’s influenced our human world, testimonials, believers and disbelievers. Fluoroquinolone antibiotics also changed me.

I’ve chosen to put warnings out about both. God is real. Fluoroquinolone antibiotic damage is real. I didn’t write the books on either subject, and yet here I am giving a 1st hand account of both. I can tell you that both of them changed me, and affected my life tremendously. I also am using a shield to deflect persecution for speaking on both matters, and I count it all joy. I’m happy to take the backlash on both, because for as many who don’t believe, there are those that will believe. I have faith that believing in both can be healing and change our lives for the better.

Do I look poorly on those who don’t believe in these things? No. I feel fear that both of those things could mean terrible suffering later, and I hope that it won’t come to that. I don’t wish suffering on anyone. I would never want someone to go through the devastation that not believing in either of those things could mean.

In both arenas, I have to repeatedly remind myself that I can’t make anyone believe anything. My husband wisely reminds me often of a chart he learned in training. There is an area of control, an area of influence, and area of concern. The area of control is only me. I can only control me. The area of influence is family, children, friends, coworkers, and those you might be close to. The area of concern is everything else. Things like the general population, who the president is going to be…things further removed from us. I have to tell myself this often, My area of control is only me. Rest…now repeat it again Amy. I often worry about things I can’t control. It sometimes makes me feel almost physically sick when I feel the danger someone is in, but they won’t believe.  When someone is taking Fluoroquinolone antibiotics, and they don’t believe, and they say things like, “I’ve taken these 10 times before and nothing happened to me.” It eats at me that they don’t understand that they have been fortunate not to feel the damage yet, but if they continue…it will come. The same goes with not believing there is a God. They may not be feeling the damage yet, but if they continue in the way they have been living…it will come.

My hope is that somehow they can avoid this devastation, by heeding the warning when it’s given, instead of having their lives fall apart first.

Proverbs 16:18 Pride goeth before destruction, and an haughty spirit before a fall

It breaks my heart, that so often as humans, this is how it works. The warnings are all around us and yet, we are so comfortable with what we feel we know, and we don’t want to change, until our way has been proven faulty. It’s painful. The rug has to be yanked out from underneath us, for us to go searching for a better more secure spot. We never think disaster is around the corner, until we are looking back at a disaster.

I didn’t know that a course of Cipro was going to change my life. The warnings didn’t exist to the same degree as they are now. I didn’t take it obstinately. Most of us didn’t. However, I bet if you ask any of us if our pride was ripped away, we would all say yes. It’s incredibly humbling to have your independence torn away and to need help where you used to be self sufficient. The humbling is painful. Most people who experience any kind of chronic illness or injury, know what this is like. It’s a heavy load to bear.

I am so thankful that the answer to both of these hard truths…is the same. God. God is the answer. I don’t know how He will choose to move in each individuals situation. For some, the burden will be taken away. For some the burden may remain. Either way, it’s better when He is in it. Carrying a heavy burden, is always so much easier when a friend comes in and helps. God is that friend. He can help us carry this burden. Without Him, it will be much much harder.

Mathew 11:28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

Sometimes even a shared yoke feels immense and heavy. Imagine how much worse it feels without the help. I don’t want to feel that. I don’t want you to feel that either.

If I didn’t care about people, I wouldn’t waste my breath. The truth is, I care about people way way more than what is sometimes good for me. I care for them beyond my circle of concern. I want everyone to be happy, feel good, have peace and be without pain. The desire for that, drives me to share my faith and my story to probably an annoying level. I know that I can yell over and over about the danger in not believing in both of these, and some will never believe. I can yell till I’m blue in the face about the sharks in the water, and some will ignore the warnings. That’s just the way it is. So…I’m still going to stand here pointing and dancing obnoxiously and hollering and shining light on these issues until I see the danger has been revealed, and all are safe. I’ll either draw enough attention to cause some change in the world, or I’ll be committed to a mental asylum.

Jesus changed the world and he had only 12 disciples.

Jesus has 12 followers

It only takes a few to make an impact. Let’s just keep marching on. We can’t prove it. We can’t prove either argument, though there is evidence and reason to believe both. The scoffers can’t disprove it either. The truth will always eventually be made light though. So we work and we wait.

Luke 8:17 For nothing is secret, that shall not be made manifest; neither any thing hid, that shall not be known and come abroad.

The truth will set us free.

John 8:32 And ye shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free

 

6 thoughts on “Prove it

  1. Amy! Keep warning the people! Don’t grow weary. Balance is crucial and you seem to habe found it. I have found that sometimes me being “floxed” and now having Lyme, I can make my health problems my “gospel” and speak more about it, than what God has and is doing!!! I am reminded of it often and have to be very careful to see myself as redeemed, and not afflicted (with these illnesses). Keep preaching the Gospel of Christ, sister!

    Like

    1. Mary Kay, I certainly can see how that would happen. Sometimes our problems have the potential to consume us. It’s important to remember that nothing is too big or heavy for God. God has the power to face anything. I understand the importance of that balance and I agree it’s so important. I have to remind myself of it sometimes. I try to keep my Sundays technology free. I need time to think about God uninterrupted for a whole day. It cleans my mind, refreshes my soul and helps me face the coming week with a better mindset. If I don’t do that I find myself stressed and losing balance.

      Like

  2. Yessss! Standing and caring with you.
    A friend recently turned this light on for me… The reason God’s yoke is easy and the burden is light is because His yoke is the mantle He designed especially for each us to bear. So, our God given mantle is the perfect fit and it feels natural to walk out our purpose. And discomfort comes when we get sidetracked or go against it. You are clearly walking in your natural purpose and flow with mountains and mustard seeds. Thanks for sharing your hard earned wisdom and encouraging others on the journey.

    Like

  3. I can totally identify with everything you have shared here. I too, know the frustration. However
    we simply need to do the works He has prepared ahead of time for us to do, Ephesians 2:10.
    Then this scripture came to me and I hope it will help to give you (and me) His perspective on
    the ministry He has given to each one of us……John 4:36-38. Be at peace, Amy. Regardless of
    how things might look to us, we’re all just one brick in His “church”, there to fill a very particular
    space, and no more!

    Like

Leave a Reply

